ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY 18TH OCTOBER 2023

Dear Sir/Madam.

I am to inform you that a meeting of the Environment Committee will be held on Wednesday, 18th October 2023 (immediately following the Recreation Committee) in attendance at the Council Offices, School Aycliffe Lane, Newton Aycliffe DL5 6QF.

Yours faithfully,

Dan Austin Town Clerk.

AGENDA

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

To receive apologies for absence.

2. MEMBERS' DISPENSATION

To consider written requests for dispensations from members who have declared interests under Disclosable or Non-Disclosable Pecuniary Interests – Section 33 of the 2011 Localism Act.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

To notify of any items that appear in the agenda in which you may have an interest, including those that have previously been recorded in the Members Register of Interests.

4. PUBLIC QUESTIONS

Members of the public are permitted to make representations, ask questions, and give evidence in respect of any item of business included in the agenda. Questions will not be received by the Council which are in furtherance of a person's individual circumstances, or which are about a matter where there is a right of appeal to the courts, a tribunal or government minister. A question will not be received by the Council where the issue it concerns has been the subject of a decision of the Council in the last six months.

5. MINUTES

To receive the minutes of the Environment Committee meeting held on 6th September 2023. (previously circulated)

6. PLANNING SUB COMMITTEE MINUTES

... To receive the minutes of the meetings of the Planning Sub-Committee held on the 31st August 2023 and 5th October 2023.

7. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN (AND VICE CHAIRMAN IF REQUIRED)

To consider appointing a new Chairman of the Environment Committee following the resignation of Councillor Phil Hawkins. Please note that if it is agreed that the current Vice Chairman (Councillor Ian Gray) steps up to Chairman, a new Vice Chairman will need to be appointed.

8. ALLOTMENTS REPORT

... To consider the attached report from the Grounds Maintenance Services Co-ordinator for the six weeks ended the 8th October 2023.

9. ENVIRONMENT REPORT

... To consider the attached report from the Works and Environment Manager for the six weeks ended the 8th October 2023.

10. CEMETERIES REPORT

... To consider the attached report from the Grounds Maintenance Services Co-ordinator for the six weeks ended the 8th October 2023.

11. SCHOOL AYCLIFFE NATURE RESERVE AND WETLAND

To give consideration to the following item to be raised by Councillor Arun Chandran and Councillor Ian Gray:

"That we ask officers to look at the feasibility of restoring and improving the pathways around School Aycliffe Nature Reserve and Wetland and undertaking other improvement works, including the restoration of the wildflower area via the removal of a fallen tree, so that the residents can have full access to a quality path network (not withstanding flooding when it occurs). Officers are requested to prepare an action plan with costings and investigate possible external funding opportunities and report back to a future meeting of this Committee"

12. 2024/25 DRAFT ENVIRONMENT REVENUE AND CAPITAL BUDGETS

... To consider the attached report from the Finance Manager.

Any questions or queries on agenda items or reports should be raised with officers before meetings by telephone or email.

Please note that this does not preclude members from asking the question at the meeting if this is important to the debate or decision.

Members are requested, during Council Meetings, to observe the Council's Standing Orders relating to the Business and Proceedings of the Council, with particular reference to the Rules of Debate, as well as the Members' Code of Conduct and the principles of Civility and Respect Pledge

MEMBERSHIP OF THE ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE:

Councillors Eddy Adam, Tony Armstrong, Martin Ashcroft, Lindsey Aston, Jim Atkinson, Peter Bergg, Dorothy Bowman, Arun M. Chandran, John Clark, Neil Collinson, George Gray, Ian Gray, Brian Haigh, Sandra Haigh, Andy Hill, Jed Hillary, Wendy Hillary, Simon Hocking, Joanne Jones, Neville Jones, Sandra Kirby, John Moore, Carl Robinson, Ken Robson, Anita Sparrow, Michael Stead, Anne Woodward and John Woodward. (+1 vacancy)