ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY 17TH MAY 2023

(as part of the Annual General Meeting)

Minutes of the meeting of the **ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE** held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, School Aycliffe Lane, Newton Aycliffe on Wednesday 17th May 2023.

PRESENT

Councillors Eddy Adam, Tony Armstrong, Martin Ashcroft, Lindsey Aston, Jim Atkinson, Peter Bergg, Dorothy Bowman, Arun M. Chandran, John Clark, Neil Collinson, Bob Fleming, George Gray, Ian Gray, Brian Haigh, Andy Hill, Phillip Hawkins, Jed Hillary, Wendy Hillary, Simon Hocking, Joanne Jones, Neville Jones, Sandra Kirby, John Moore, Carl Robinson, Ken Robson, Anita Sparrow, Michael Stead, Anne Woodward and John Woodward.

IN ATTENDANCE

Councillor Sandra Haigh.

OFFICIALS

Mr. D. Austin (Town Clerk)

Mrs. T. Woodhead (Finance Manager)

Mrs. S. Stretch (Senior Administrative Officer)

Miss. A. Donald (Corporate and Policy Officer)

1. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

It was proposed by Councillor Arun M. Chandran and seconded by Councillor Ken Robson that Councillor Phillip Hawkins be nominated as Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24

It was further proposed by Councillor Lindsey Aston, and seconded by Councillor Anita Sparrow, that Councillor Michael Stead be nominated as Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

A vote took place with the following results:

Councillor Phillip Hawkins - 12 votes Councillor Michael Stead – 12 votes

A discussion took place regarding the Chairman's casting vote and whether this should be the outgoing Chairman of Environment Committee or the Chairman of the Council..

Councillor Carl Robinson as Chairman of the Council gave his casting vote in favour of Councillor Phillip Hawkins.

RESOLVED – that Councillor Phillip Hawkins be appointed Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

Councillor Phillip Hawkins took the Chair for the meeting.

2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was proposed by Councillor Eddy Adam and seconded by Councillor John Clark that Councillor Ian Gray be nominated as Vice-Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

RESOLVED – that Councillor Ian Gray be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Environment Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

3. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence.

4. MEMBERS' DISPENSATIONS

There had been no applications for dispensations.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

6. APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS

The Environment Committee considered the appointment of members to the following Sub-Committees:

(a) Planning Sub Committee

RESOLVED as follows:

(a) Planning Sub-Committee

RESOLVED as follows:

- (i) That a Planning Sub-Committee be appointed for the Municipal Year 2023/24.
- (ii) That the Planning Sub-Committee comprise of 13 members plus the Mayor and Deputy Mayor as ex-officio members.
- (iii) That the membership be:

Councillors Jim Atkinson, Peter Bergg, Arun M. Chandran, John Clark, Neil Collinson, Bob Fleming, George Gray, Ian Gray, Brian Haigh, Phillip Hawkins, Joanne Jones, Neville Jones, Carl Robinson, Ken Robson and John Woodward.

(iv) That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Planning Sub-Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24 be appointed at its first meeting.