#### RECREATION COMMITTEE

# WEDNESDAY 17<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2023

(as part of the Annual General Meeting)

Minutes of the meeting of the **RECREATION COMMITTEE** held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, School Aycliffe Lane, Newton Aycliffe on Wednesday 17<sup>th</sup> May 2023.

PRESENT Councillors Eddy Adam, Tony Armstrong, Martin Ashcroft, Lindsey

Aston, Jim Atkinson, Peter Bergg, Dorothy Bowman, Arun M. Chandran, John Clark, Neil Collinson, Bob Fleming, George Gray, Ian Gray, Brian Haigh, Sandra Haigh, Andy Hill, Phillip Hawkins, Jed Hillary, Simon Hocking, Joanne Jones, Neville Jones, Sandra Kirby, John Moore, Carl Robinson, Ken Robson, Anita Sparrow, Michael

Stead, Anne Woodward and John Woodward.

IN ATTENDANCE Councillor Wendy Hillary

**OFFICIALS** Mr. D. Austin (Town Clerk)

Mrs. T. Woodhead (Finance Manager)

Mrs. S. Stretch (Senior Administrative Officer) Miss. A. Donald (Corporate and Policy Officer)

#### 1. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

It was proposed by Councillor Phil Hawkins and seconded by Councillor Peter Bergg that Councillor Ken Robson be nominated as Chairman of the Recreation Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

It was further proposed by Councillor Lindsey Aston and seconded by Councillor Tony Armstrong that Councillor Jed Hillary be nominated as Chairman of the Recreation Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

A vote was requested with the following result:

For Councillor Ken Robson -13 votes For Councillor Jed Hillary – 16 votes

**RESOLVED** – that Councillor Jed Hillary be appointed Chairman of the Recreation Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

Councillor Jed Hillary took the Chair for the meeting.

# 2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was proposed by Councillor Carl Robinson and seconded by Councillor Arun Chandran that Councillor George Gray be nominated as Vice-Chairman of the Recreation Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

It was further proposed by Councillor Lindsey Aston and seconded by Councillor Neville Jones, that Councillor Tony Armstrong be nominated as Vice-Chairman of the Recreation Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

A vote was requested with the following result:

For Councillor George Gray - 13 votes For Councillor Tony Armstrong – 16 votes

**RESOLVED** – that Councillor Tony Armstrong be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Recreation Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

### 3. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence.

#### 4. MEMBERS' DISPENSATIONS

There had been no applications for dispensations.

### 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 6. APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS

The Recreation Committee considered the appointment of members to the following Sub Committee / Working Group:

- (a) Golf Working Group
- (b) Events Sub-Committee

**RESOLVED** – as follows:-

### (a) Golf Working Group

**RESOLVED** as follows:

- (i) That a Golf Working Group be appointed for the Municipal Year 2023/24.
- (ii) That the Golf Working Group comprise of 9 members plus the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of Recreation Committee.
- (iii) That the membership be:

Councillors: Eddy Adam, Tony Armstrong, Martin Ashcroft, Jim Atkinson, Arun Chandran, Bob Fleming, George Gray, Jed Hillary, Ken Robson, Anne Woodward and John Woodward.

(iv) That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Golf Working Group for the Municipal Year 2023/24 be appointed at its first meeting.

## (b) Events Sub Committee

### **RESOLVED** as follows:

- (i) That an Events Sub-Committee be appointed for the Municipal Year 2023/2024.
- (ii) That the Events Sub-Committee comprise of 12 members plus the Mayor and Deputy Mayor as ex-officio members.
- (iii) That the membership be:
  - Councillors: Tony Armstrong, Martin Ashcroft, Neil Collinson, Bob Fleming, Sandra Haigh, Phillip Hawkins, Andy Hill, Jed Hillary, Simon Hocking, Sandra Kirby, Carl Robinson, Ken Robson, Anne Woodward and John Woodward.
- (iv) That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Events Sub-Committee for the Municipal Year 2023/24 be appointed at its first meeting.

CHAIRMAN.